top of page

Algorithm

I swear social media is some kind of malicious worldwide experiment to kill people’s ability to feel joy.

I experience the following several times a day: See an image or read a story or watch a video that makes me laugh. Lightens my day. Dispels a tiny part of the permanent cloud of darkness over my head. I scroll on, still smiling, riding the high, and am immediately accosted with death, agony, or hatred. Perhaps all 3. I freeze with this fucking grin on my face staring at the worst, most caustic shit the world can throw at me. Genocide, murder, rape. While I smile.

I am so, so tired of it. The emotional whiplash. The punishment for feeling an instant of happiness. Just the sheer trickery of it.

You want to talk about a social media algorithm? How about one that fucking *warns you*? How about one that puts the good shit together and the bad shit together, and is like, “Brace yourself, this next part is awful, but it’s important you know it,” instead of just an endless jack-in-the-box alternating between flippant stupidity and soul-rending awfulness? Logging on is just an exercise in psychotic emotional manipulation, from start to finish. I close that fucking window and feel like my mind has been raked with hot coals.

Recent Posts

See All

World’s End

Look at this shit. These people are fucking idiots. Do they think that removing this shit from their site is going to somehow prevent us from realizing climate change is real? Heat index in MN was 121

Bedrock

This is a thank you post, so I’m going to say that first. To everyone who has ever left me a good Amazon review, who has ever emailed or messaged me to say how much they loved my work. Even if “all” y

The Power To Do Nothing

When I hear that Apple is worth one trillion dollars it makes me want to scream. That is the kind of money that could buy everyone an electric vehicle and convert whole swaths of the world to green en

bottom of page