top of page

Dandelions

Dandelions are our constant enemy in the back yard, you know, a nice suburban lawn is not supposed to have a bunch of weeds all over it. Last weekend my wife and I mowed and put down a layer of weed’n’feed in the hopes of never seeing one at our new place.

Yesterday my little girl told me it was a wonderful day. When I asked her why, she said, “Because we have our first dandelion at our new house!” Looking outside I saw that we did, indeed, and my daughter was thrilled to see it.


It triggers a bunch of questions, of course, like who determines beauty, what do people have against yellow, what makes one plant a “flower” and another a “weed” – but the biggest one for me is:

What would we do without children constantly renewing the world? How grey would everything be without their brand-new takes on things? With time everything becomes dismal and faded; there is always a negative to find.

We need youth; we need their perspective. It’s not just a reminder that beauty is relative – it’s a reminder that AGE is relative. “Everything old is new again.” The world still IS wonderful and beautiful and awe-inspiring, it’s just that sometimes, we need to share a fresh view in order to see it.

Recent Posts

See All

You Ever Had This One?

You know those nights where you’re walking up the street with your wife and the tornado siren goes off? When the storm whips up and you...

Thunder

Excuse me while I nerd out hard for a second. So it’s a couple years old, but there is a ridiculous video making the rounds today of a...

You Can Breathe Here

My daughter told me existence was too big for her. She is ten years old and is overwhelmed by the inevitability of death, the seeming...

Bình luận


bottom of page