top of page

Next


Confession time: For the last five months or so, a few false starts notwithstanding, I haven’t really been writing.



I would say it was a perfect storm of depressive episodes, a sense of being unmoored and an uncertainty about what to write next, but it wasn’t. 8 years into this writing journey, I think I’m finally beginning to understand that taking a break between books seems to just be a part of my MO – *especially* if I’m trying to switch genres between books.



And once again, I was. First I was going to write Sean, an Alex-ey type book a mother and her son. I still really want to write that book. But I can’t right now.



Then I was going to write the Apex trilogy, a sci-fi work that I have really well fleshed out and am really, really excited about. But I didn’t want to write 3 whole novels before the next Redemption Chronicle book.



I waffled. I oscillated. Then I got a piece of fan mail begging me for info on when the next Redemption Chronicle book was coming. I made my decision to write the next two books in that series, back to back – and the second I did, the floodgates in my brain threw themselves open. I knew what the prologue would be, what the first scene would be. Details about how the two primary narratives would interweave and complement each other manifested themselves – details that had been dodging me for months.



This morning I wrote that prologue and started on the first chapter, and it flowed. Really flowed. Man it feels good to be writing again.



I have some pretty major news about the Redemption Chronicle that I’ll be breaking to you soon – maybe really, really soon, maybe not for a couple months yet. But it’s exciting.



In the meantime, I just wanted to let you know I’m writing again. With luck I’ll have you something early next year.

Recent Posts

See All

Bedrock

This is a thank you post, so I’m going to say that first. To everyone who has ever left me a good Amazon review, who has ever emailed or messaged me to say how much they loved my work. Even if “all” y

1,001 Reasons Not To Write Today

I think I just figured out why it can be so incredibly hard to start writing in the morning. See, when I’m on a roll or on a tangible deadline, I can get into a rhythm. Wake up and write. Write whenev

Re: New Books

Couple big writing updates: 1) It’s been awhile since I posted an update on my current project, A Season of Rendings. I have been busting my butt on this book this year, and in the last month or so I’

bottom of page