top of page

All The Latest

Damn, I have a lot to say.

I’ll try to keep each item brief.  I’ll also label them, so you can skip the stuff that sounds boring to you.

The New Site

First off, this is my first blog post on my new and improved website.  Now, through the miracle of modern technology, my blog has somehow been magically baked in to the website itself.  I no longer have a separate website and blog; instead, I have one super-duper web presence with all my web-presence needs accounted for.  The website looks like a real grown-up did it.  I’m so pleased.  : )  I’ve mentioned her before, but Breanne Dyck at MNIB did this for me, and if you need a site of comparable quality, you should let her know.  She’ll take care of you.

If you have an RSS feed to the old Blogger site, it should have automatically transitioned.  If you saw an RSS update from this post without having to update from the old Blogger feed, please let me know so I can confirm it’s working.

Children of a Broken Sky is a Kindle Fantasy bestseller!

Children launched on October 30th and hit the Kindle Fantasy bestseller list, peaking at #84!  This was a pleasant surprise.  I’ve got my work cut out for me in getting the book exposed to a new audience (fantasy readers), but that was a nice way to start the journey.  Thanks to everyone who picked it up.

The Children Paperback

Children of a Broken Sky is currently only available for Kindle, but I’m very, very close to making the paperback available as well.  I would’ve had it ready last week, but I wasn’t happy with a few things in the proof I saw, so I had to order a new one.  I should have the new one reviewed today, which means the paperback could be available as soon as tomorrow if there are no other issues.  I really want this paperback to look nice, though, so if I have to make some tweaks before releasing it, that’s what I’ll do.  I’ll keep you posted.

Retail price on the paperback should be right around $15, initially.

The Children Hardcover

Yes, you read that right – I am producing a hardcover version of Children.  I’m in the middle of the process right now and should be able to review a proof in the next week or so.  Once it’s available, I’ll let you know.  Retail price should be right around $30 – $35.

I’m going through Lulu for the hardcover, which is a company I’ve never worked with before.  I’ll post a synopsis of my experience and contrast it with my Createspace experience when I’m done.

I’m pretty excited about making a hardcover.  Can’t wait to see the final product.  If it works out, I may revisit Rebecca and Alex and make hardcovers available for those as well.

Autographed Novels

If you’re interested in getting an autographed copy of Children when it becomes available, let me know.  I can accommodate requests for the paperback or the hardcover – KDP Select prohibits me from selling autographed copies of the e-book, unfortunately.  I’d also be happy to mail out autographed copies of Alex or Rebecca, if that’s your thing.

What’s Next?

If you follow me on Facebook, you’re probably aware of this already.

I’m planning to write two books next year.  One will be A Season of Rendings, the first sequel to Children.  My hope is to have that available by mid-year.  The other will be a more “Alex-ey” book.  For that one, I have two ideas in mind and am having trouble deciding between them. They’re both pretty well fleshed out and will most likely both get written at some point; the only question is which one I write next year.

In 2010 when I decided to write something new, I pitched three ideas to my mom and let her pick the one she liked the most, which ended up being Alex. That turned out pretty well, methinks, so I thought I might try it again, this time letting my readers pick which one sounds best.  When I floated the idea on Facebook, people seemed to like it.

I’ll do a couple decent write-ups and warn you when they’re on their way.  Fair warning: they’re both father-son stories.  What can I say, they’re in my blood.

Recent Posts

See All

Next

Confession time: For the last five months or so, a few false starts notwithstanding, I haven’t really been writing. I would say it was a perfect storm of depressive episodes, a sense of being unmoored

Bedrock

This is a thank you post, so I’m going to say that first. To everyone who has ever left me a good Amazon review, who has ever emailed or messaged me to say how much they loved my work. Even if “all” y

1,001 Reasons Not To Write Today

I think I just figured out why it can be so incredibly hard to start writing in the morning. See, when I’m on a roll or on a tangible deadline, I can get into a rhythm. Wake up and write. Write whenev

bottom of page