top of page

Reasons why this week kicks ass

1. I started writing again. I’ve shot up to 60,500 words, or 75% of the goal word count. I feel like I’ve really got momentum. Now the trick is to keep it. I want to finish. I want to say, “I’ve got a book on Kindle,” instead of, “I’ll be Kindle-publishing a book this year.” 2. I started a biking/lifting routine in May. So far I’ve lost 15 pounds and actually learned how to eat without ordering pizza. Did you know if you eat a banana and an apple, you’ll actually get full? It’s amazing, but true. You don’t need to stuff your face with bismarcks and fried cheese in order to stop being hungry. 3. My wife and I had our 14th anniversary yesterday. Don’t tell anyone, but I have a little surprise for her tomorrow night. Sadly, doing something celebratory on a Wednesday night, when everyone doesn’t get done with their workouts until nearly 8pm and the kids have school the next morning, is pretty much impossible. 4. We’re playing D&D; again on Saturday, after almost two months off. I’m going to celebrate by killing a PC. Mwa haha.

So – why the hell has it been so long since my last post? Tons of reasons, most of them family-related, which I can’t go into on a public blog. I don’t think I had written a word on Alex – prior to this week – since my last post in May. That’s changing, finally – but man, what I wouldn’t give for more hours in the day.

Recent Posts

See All

Next

Confession time: For the last five months or so, a few false starts notwithstanding, I haven’t really been writing. I would say it was a perfect storm of depressive episodes, a sense of being unmoored

Bedrock

This is a thank you post, so I’m going to say that first. To everyone who has ever left me a good Amazon review, who has ever emailed or messaged me to say how much they loved my work. Even if “all” y

1,001 Reasons Not To Write Today

I think I just figured out why it can be so incredibly hard to start writing in the morning. See, when I’m on a roll or on a tangible deadline, I can get into a rhythm. Wake up and write. Write whenev

bottom of page